Author Topic: driver training  (Read 4352 times)

Offline coachbc

• Boat Make/Model/Year: 1990 American Skier Advance
driver training
« on: August 27, 2015, 06:44:25 PM »
Here in Connecticut a new law was passed and will go into effect on October 1, 2015 that requires any driver towing a waterslide have an endorsement on their boaters certificate that indicates completion of skier driver training. I've been towing waterslides for 45 years! In one month I will no longer be able to do that. I am required to take a course THAT HAS NOT BEEN ESTABLISHED YET! While I agree that the accident that led to this law was a tragic accident, requiring ALL boaters to take a non-existing class is idiotic.OLR Bill Analysis
Here is the law.....

sSB 699 (File 552, as amended by Senate "A")*

AN ACT ESTABLISHING A MINIMUM AGE FOR TOWING ANY PERSON BY VESSEL AND REQUIRING THE COMPLETION OF SAFE TOWING INSTRUCTION PRIOR TO THE ISSUANCE OF A SAFE BOATING CERTIFICATE.

SUMMARY:

This bill requires, with limited exceptions, a person who operates a vessel engaged in water skiing to:

1. be at least age 16;

2. hold a (a) valid U.S. Coast Guard-issued vessel operator license, (b) Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP)-issued safe boating certificate (SBC) or certificate of personal watercraft operation (CPWO), or (c) a boating safety certificate from a state with a reciprocal agreement with Connecticut; and

3. hold a DEEP-issued safe water skiing endorsement obtained after completing safe water skiing instruction.

The bill also prohibits a vessel owner from knowingly allowing someone under age 16 to operate the vessel while engaged in water skiing.

Violators of the above requirements are subject to a fine of between $60 and $250 for each violation.